35382914Name: Prisoner of Ice and Snow
Author: Ruth Lauren
Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Publication Date: 7th September 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆
GOODREADS | PRE-ORDER/BUY

Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice.

But that’s exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside.

No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison …

An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable.

 KEY WORDS: Adventure, mystery, sisterhood.

*I received an eARC of this novel from the publisher on Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

It’s been a while since I’ve read a middle grade novel, and I didn’t actually realise it was MG when I got this from Netgalley. However, it was a fun and easy read that clensed my palette after a really heavy, mind-consuming novel.

Prisoner of Ice and Snow is a really beautiful story of sisterhood and adventure, set in a matriarchal kingdom which is exactly what girls should be reading at school age to empower them, stregthen their friendships and familial bonds and make them realise that they can do anything. The protagonist, Valor, and her sister, Sasha, a twin sisters and daughters of the Queen’s Head Huntwoman (their mother) and Adviser (their father). Just the fact that the mother was the huntswoman and not adviser made me smile. Tough women who know how to fight is everything I love and having that as a role model to 13/14 year old Valor is brilliant. The royal succession goes down the female line and, okay, yes it’s still inequality and no, our society shouldn’t be that way, but I love the idea of young girls reading that women can be Queen instead of their younger brothers as in British history. That was the worst realisation for 6/7 year old Imi. I digress…

The novel is short and easy reading for those younger readers, taking you on a sweet journey that is surprisingly like the tag line of ‘Frozen meets Prison Break’! Even as a MG novel, it still captivated me enough to stay up late to finish it. I would definitely recommend this more to younger readers but if you fancy something less intense, then this might be the next read for you!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s